It’s Mashed Potato Time/Do The Bird

The teenage Dee Dee Sharp (born Dione LaRue) was by far the biggest female star on the Cameo Parkway roster, and in fact was the first black female teen idol, thanks to her prodigious vocal talent and her string of appearances on Dick Clark's 'American Bandstand' show. And this pair of 1962 mono albums capture her just as her star is streaking across the pop music firmament; they include three of her five Top Ten hits between them, and with their colorful packaging and hilarious sleeve note from Chubby Checker, they offer an early course in how to package a teen pop star (in this case, a very gifted teen pop star)! Includes 'Gravy (for My Mashed Potatoes); Slow Twistin'; Gee; Two Loves; One Hundred Pounds of Clay; Eddie, My Love; Mashed Potato Time; (Dee Dee) Be My Girl; I Sold My Heart to the Junkman; Remember You're Mine; Hurry On Down; Splish Splash; Let the Sunshine In; I Will Follow Him; Rockin' Robin; He's So Fine; You Ain't Nothin' but a Nothin'; Reet Petite; Do the Bird; Be Ever Wonderful; Our Day Will Come; Just to Hold My Hand; Why Don't You Ask Me', and 'South Street'. 24 tracks, with notes by Ed Osborne!

Track Listing:
1. Gravy (For My Mashed Potatoes)
2. Slow Twistin'
3. Gee
4. Two Loves
5. A Hundred Pounds Of Clay
6. Eddie My Love
7. Mashed Potato Time
8. (Dee Dee) Be My Girl
9. I Sold My Heart To The Junkman
10. Remember You're Mine
11. Hurry On Down
12. Splish Splash
13. Let The Sunshine In
14. I Will Follow Him
15. Rockin' Robin
16. He's So Fine
17. You Ain't Nothin' But A Nothin'
18. Reet Petite
19. Do The Bird
20. Be Ever Wonderful
21. Our Day Will Come
22. Just To Hold My Hand
23. Why Don't You Ask Me
24. South Street

« Back To Store