12 x 5 (Clear Vinyl)
  • Side 1
    • 1. "Around and Around"
    • 2. "Confessin’ the Blues"
    • 3. "Empty Heart"
    • 4. "Time Is on My Side"
    • 5. "Good Times, Bad Times"
    • 6. "It’s All Over Now"
  • Side 2
    • 1. "2120 South Michigan Avenue"
    • 2. "Under the Boardwalk"
    • 3. "Congratulations"
    • 4. "Grown Up Wrong"
    • 5. "If You Need Me"
    • 6. "Susie Q"

12 X 5 was the Stones’ second U.S. full-length release. Originally released in October of 1964, 12 X 5 combines the Five by Five EP (recorded at Chess Studios in Chicago) with the singles “It’s All Over Now” and “Time Is on My Side” and the B-sides of those singles. Also part of the 12 X 5 tune stack are three more tracks that were later included in the Stones’ second UK full-length The Rolling Stones No. 2. 12 X 5 is dominated by the Stones’ takes on R&B and blues songs. The way in which Mick Jagger, Keith Richards, Charlie Watts, Bill Wyman and Brian Jones interpreted these songs shaped and informed the hard blues/R&B wing of the British Invasion in ensuing years. The Clearly Classic edition is based on the original mono mix.

Album Review by Richie Unterberger, AllMusic.com:
The evolution from blues to rock accelerated with The Rolling Stones‘ second American LP. They turned soul into guitar rock for the hits “It’s All Over Now” and “Time Is on My Side” (the latter of which was their first American Top Ten single). “2120 South Michigan Avenue” is a great instrumental blues-rock jam; “Around and Around” is one of their best Chuck Berry covers; and “If You Need Me” reflects an increasing contemporary soul influence. On the other hand, the group originals (except for the propulsive “Empty Heart”) are weak and derivative, indicating that the band still had a way to go before it could truly challenge the Beatles’ throne.