Our Idiot Brother (Original Motion Picture Soundtrack)

Every family has one: the sibling who is always just a little bit behind the curve when it comes to getting his life together. For sisters Liz (Emily Mortimer), Miranda (Elizabeth Banks) and Natalie (Zooey Deschanel), that person is their perennially upbeat brother Ned (Paul Rudd), an erstwhile organic farmer whose willingness to rely on the honesty of mankind is a less-than-optimum strategy for a tidy, trouble-free existence. Ned may be utterly lacking in common sense, but he is their brother and so, after his girlfriend dumps him and boots him off the farm, his sisters once again come to his rescue. As Liz, Miranda and Natalie each take a turn at housing Ned, their brother’s unfailing commitment to honesty creates more than a few messes in their comfortable routines. But as each of their lives begins to unravel, Ned’s family comes to realize that maybe, in believing and trusting the people around him; Ned isn’t such an idiot after all.

Our Idiot Brother (Original Motion Picture Soundtrack)‘s 16 tracks are a reflection of the film’s mirthful quirkiness. The score was written by film composer, musician and author Nathan Larson (Boys Don’t Cry, The Woodsman and The Messenger) and Fruit Bats‘ founder Eric D. Johnson. Johnson contributed an alt incredibly cool version of “Tie a Yellow Ribbon Round the Ole Oak Tree” to the lineup and Larson “Mellotron Melody.” Another stand out is the infectious “Taking You With Me,” a youthful alt country duet from Mindy Smith and Daniel Tashian written especially for the film. One of the Johnson-Larson tracks, “Cowboys and Hobos,” features guest vocalist Nina Persson of the Swedish reared band The Cardigans (whose offstage life includes being married to Larson). Check out “Lightning Bug,” an unreleased track from Johnson’s own Fruit Bats and “Cool Yourself” by Thao with the Get Down Stay Down from their cult classic album Know Better Learn Faster. There’s more: “When They Fight They Fight,” from throwback popsters the Generationals and “The Things You Lost” from singer/tunesmith El May (aka Lara Meyerratken). Also included is Carole King’s Tapestry classic “Beautiful” as well as three offerings from the Willie Nelson canon: “Wonderful Future,” “Midnight Rider” and “Ol’ Blue.” None of these Willie tracks have ever been featured in a film, and “Wonderful Future” is somewhat a rare gem from Willie’s extensive catalog.

Our Idiot Brother (Original Motion Picture Soundtrack)

  1. Tie a Yellow Ribbon Round The Ole Oak Tree – Eric D. Johnson
  2. Wonderful Future – Willie Nelson
  3. The Main Title – Nathan Larson & Eric D. Johnson
  4.  When They Fight, They Fight – Generationals
  5.  Lightning Bug – Fruit Bats
  6.  Mellotron Melody – Nathan Larson
  7.  Midnight Rider – Willie Nelson
  8. Taking You With Me – Daniel Tashian & Mindy Smith
  9.  The Harvest Time – Nathan Larson & Eric D. Johnson
  10. Cool Yourself – Thao with the Get Down Stay Down
  11. Ol’ Blue – Willie Nelson
  12. The Taxi – Nathan Larson & Eric D. Johnson
  13. Cowboys and Hobos – Nathan Larson & Eric D. Johnson featuring Nina Persson
  14. 2 Roadrunners – Eric D. Johnson
  15. The Things You Lost – El May
  16. Beautiful – Carole King


Our Idiot Brother (Original Motion Picture...