ABKCO RSD Releases Include The Animals and Herman’s Hermits & The Darjeeling

ABKCO RSD Releases Include The Animals and Herman’s Hermits & The Darjeeling

Saturday, April 18 marks Record Store Day 2015, celebrating the culture of the independently owned record store. ABKCO Records, one of the world’s leading independent record labels, is participating with a slate of three unique releases on vinyl – one that has never been issued in the U.S., one that is making its LP debut and one that has been unavailable on any format in the U.S. for almost five decades.

Overview of ABKCO’s Record Store Day 2015 offerings:


The 2007 Wes Anderson-directed film starring Owen Wilson, Adrien Brody and Jason Schwartzman is notable for its eclectic soundtrack. Set in India, the film incorporates the music of acclaimed director Satyajit Ray’s own films, scoring from early Indian Merchant-Ivory films, and pop hits by the Rolling Stones and the Kinks. This will be the first time the soundtrack is available on the LP format, and the RSD exclusive version will be on transparent green vinyl in a gatefold jacket featuring stills from the film.

1) “Where Do You Go To (My Lovely)” – Peter Sarstedt
2) Title Music from Satyajit Ray’s film Jalsaghar – Ustad Vilayat Khan
3) “This Time Tomorrow” – The Kinks
4) Title Music from Satyajit Ray’s film Teen Kanya – Satyajit Ray
5) Title Music from Merchant-Ivory’s film The Householder – Jyotitindra Moitra
6) “Ruku’s Room” from Satyajit Ray’s film Joi Baba Felunath – Satyajit Ray
7) “Charu’s Theme” from Satyajit Ray’s film Charulata – Satyajit Ray
8) Title Music from Merchant-Ivory’s film Bombay Talkie – Shankar/Jaikishan
9) “Montage” from Nityananda Datta’s film Baksa Badal – Satyajit Ray
10) “Prayer” – Jodphur Sikh Temple Congregation
11) “Farewell To Earnest” from Merchant-Ivory’s film The Householder – Jyotitindra Moitra
12) “The Deserted Ballroom” from Merchant-Ivory’s film Shakespeare Wallah – Satyajit Ray
13) Suite Bergamasque: 3. “Clair de Lune” – Alexis Weissenberg

1) “Typewriter Tip, Tip, Tip” from Merchant-Ivory’s film Bombay Talkie (sung by Kishore Kumar & Asha Bhosle) – Shankar/Jaikishan
2) “Memorial” – Narlai Village Troubador
3) “Strangers” – The Kinks
4) “Praise Him” – Udaipur Convent School Nuns and Students
5) Symphony No. 7 in A (Op 92) Allegro con brio – Fritz Reiner, Chicago Symphony Orchestra
6) “Play With Fire” – The Rolling Stones
7) “Arrival in Benaras” from Merchant-Ivory’s film The Guru – Ustad Vilayat Khan
8) “Powerman” – The Kinks
9) “Les Champs-Élysées” – Joe Dassin


Celebrating its 50th anniversary in 2015, this is the Animals’ third British Extended-Play record. Never before released in the U.S., it is being reissued as a 45 rpm 10 inch (the original was a 45 rpm 7 inch) for optimum audio fidelity. The Animals No. 2 is part of a series of EP reissues for ABKCO, which earlier released 10 inch vinyl editions of The Animals (RSD 2014), The Animals Is Here and The Animals Are Back (RSD 2013).

1) I’m in Love Again
2) Bury My Body

1) I’m Mad Again
2) She Said Yeah


Considered an underappreciated psych-pop gem, Blaze was the final studio album to contain all new material from the Herman’s Hermits lineup of Peter Noone, Keith Hopwood, Derek Leckenby, Karl Green and Barry Whitwam. Produced by Mickie Most, the album features several originals, plus songs by Donovan, Graham Gouldman and the duo John Carter-Geoff Stephens. Blaze hasn’t been available in the U.S. on any format since its original release in October 1967.

1) Museum
2) Upstairs, Downstairs
3) Busy Line
4) Moonshine Man
5) Green Street Green

1) Don’t Go Out Into the Rain (You’re Going to Melt)
2) I Call Out Her Name
3) One Little Packet of Cigarettes
4) Last Bus Home
5) Ace, King, Queen, Jack