The Animals: The Mickie Most Years And More (Box Set) Out November 26


The Animals: The Mickie Most Years And More – Seminal British Invasion Band’s First Ever Boxed Set Out November 26


It’s been more than 50 years in the making but well worth the wait: the first ever Animals boxed set, The Animals: The Mickie Most Years And More, is set for release by ABKCO Records through Real Gone Music on November 26th. Comprised of five CDs and many extras, the set offers a total of 61 tracks from one of the British Invasion’s most successful bands, fronted by the ever-enduring Eric Burdon.

A set of multiple “firsts,” The Animals: The Mickie Most Years And More offers the group’s first four US albums — The Animals, The Animals on Tour, Animal Tracks and Animalization — on CD for the very first time, each offered with bonus material. The first three of these were produced by the legendary Mickie Most, who went on to work with such notable artists as Herman’s Hermits, the Yardbirds, Donovan, Hot Chocolate, Suzi Quatro and other hit makers.

All of the discs that comprise The Animals: The Mickie Most Years And More have been newly re-mastered by Adam Ayan at Gateway Mastering who used transfers from original first generation, mono master tapes as his source. The set features a plethora of bonus tracks — a total of 16 — including the very first Animals release, a 4 track EP entitled I Just Wanna Make Love To You that was issued in 1963 on the Graphic Sound label, later re-released by (British) Decca as In The Beginning There Was Early Animals. Other bonus track highlights include four tracks never before released in the U.S., three non-LP/single-only versions including “We Gotta Get Out of This Place,” “Don’t Bring Me Down” and “I’m Gonna Change The World,” as well as “Roadrunner, “a UK-only track.

The lavishly packaged set includes extensive liner notes for each of the CDs by Rolling Stone Senior Editor David Fricke and each copy of The Animals: The Mickie Most Years And More comes with a 100% cotton Animals t-shirt.

Well worth the wait, indeed.

The Animals: The Mickie Most Years And More

Disc One
I Just Wanna Make Love to You (1963)
1. I Just Wanna Make Love to You
2. Big Boss Man
3. Boom Boom
4. Pretty Thing

Disc Two
The Animals (1964)
1. House of the Rising Sun
2. The Girl Can’t Help It
3. Blue Feeling
4. Baby Let Me Take You Home
5. The Right Time
6. Talkin’ ‘Bout You
7. Around and Around
8. I’m in Love Again
9. Gonna Send You Back to Walker
10. Memphis, Tennessee
11. I’m Mad Again
12. I’ve Been Around
Bonus Track
13. Talkin’ ‘Bout You (full seven minute version)

Disc Three
The Animals on Tour (1965)
1. Boom Boom
2. How You’ve Changed
3. Mess Around
4. Bright Lights, Big City
5. I Believe to My Soul
6. Worried Life Blues
7. Let the Good Times Roll
8. Ain’t Got You
9. Hallelujah, I Love Her So
10. I’m Crying
11. Dimples
12. She Said Yeah
Bonus Tracks
13. Baby What’s Wrong
14. F-E-E-L
15. New Year’s Radio Spot (recorded December, 1964)

Disc Four
Animal Tracks (1965)
1. We Gotta Get Out of This Place
2. Take It Easy Baby
3. Bring It on Home to Me
4. The Story of Bo Diddley
5. Don’t Let Me Be Misunderstood
6. I Can’t Believe It
7. Club A-Go-Go
8. Roberta
9. Bury My Body
10. For Miss Caulker
Bonus Tracks
11. Roadrunner (previously unreleased in the U.S.)
12. Don’t Want Much (previously unreleased in the U.S.)
13. We Gotta Get Out of This Place (U.K. single version)
14. It’s My Life (single only)
15. I’m Gonna Change the World

Disc Five
Animalization (1966, produced by Tom Wilson)
1. Don’t Bring Me Down
2. One Monkey Don’t Stop No Show
3. You’re on My Mind
4. Cheating
5. She’ll Return It
6. Inside-Looking Out
7. See See Rider
8. Gin House Blues
9. Maudie
10. What Am I Living For
11. Sweet Little Sixteen
12. I Put a Spell on You
Bonus Tracks
13. Don’t Bring Me Down (stereo)
14. Cheating (stereo)
15. See See Rider (stereo)