Scott Pilgrim Vs. The World (Original Motion Picture Soundtrack Expanded Edition) Available July 9

Scott Pilgrim Vs. The World (Original Motion Picture Soundtrack Expanded Edition) Available July 9

Rare Tracks By Metric Featuring Film Star Brie Larson, Beck, Sex Bob-Omb Make It To Streaming For the First Time

Following the enormous demand for this year’s four picture disc, vinyl-only release of Scott Pilgrim vs. The World (Original Motion Picture Soundtrack) Seven Evil Exes Edition, which includes eight previously unreleased tracks by Beck, Plumtree, Nigel Godrich, fictitious band Sex Bob-Omb, and the oft requested version of Metric’s “Black Sheep” with actress Brie Larson on vocals (as seen in the film), ABKCO will release the Expanded Edition digitally July 9. It will incorporate all nineteen tracks from the original 2010 soundtrack for Edgar Wright’s cult film adaptation of Bryan Lee O’Malley’s graphic novel series plus 12 bonus tracks, eight of which have never been offered on streaming platforms. The video for “Black Sheep” featuring Brie Larson’s incredible performance in the movie will be released in HD across all platforms today.

Scott Pilgrim vs. the World stars Michael Cera, Mary Elizabeth Winstead and Kieran Culkin. Cera’s title character, smitten by Ramona Flowers (Winstead), must battle her seven evil exes who are out to kill him. Interwoven into the plot is a plethora of fictitious music groups acting out the performances of original compositions by real recording artists. Under the direction of producer Nigel Godrich (Radiohead, Paul McCartney, U2), Beck provided the music for Scott’s low-fi garage band Sex Bob-Omb, Canadian synth-rockers Metric did the same for The Clash at Demonhead (fronted by Brie Larson), and Broken Social Scene wrote and recorded for Crash and the Boys. In some cases, the finished songs incorporate actual vocal and instrumental contributions from the actors who appear in the film.

Pre-Order Expanded Digital Edition & Stream “Black Sheep” Now

The entire process took two years of Godrich’s life, during which he essentially cast ultimate fantasy bands and got non-musician actors to learn their respective instruments with the aid of Chris Murphy from the band Sloan.  The original soundtrack went to #2 on the Billboard soundtrack chart and includes songs by Frank Black, Beachwood Sparks, Black Lips, T. Rex, Blood Red Shoes, The Rolling Stones and The Bluetones.

UK’s The Independent ranked it at number 4 out of “the 40 greatest film soundtracks of all time,” declaring that Wright “found a way to seamlessly integrate his soundtrack into Scott Pilgrim vs. the World’s narrative.” It was also included on Alternative Press’ list of “16 Fantastic Movie Soundtracks You Need To Hear.” “We Are Sex Bob-Omb” won the 2010 Houston Film Critics Society Award for Best Original Song.

In addition to the Seven Evil Exes 4LP edition, ABKCO will offer the original LP of the soundtrack as the Ramona Flowers Edition on blue, green and pink vinyl, representing the colors of the character’s hair throughout the film.

Pre-Order Ramona Flowers Edition Now

Scott Pilgrim vs. The World (Original Motion Picture Soundtrack Expanded Edition)

  1. We Are Sex Bob-Omb – Sex Bob-Omb
  2. Scott Pilgrim – Plumtree
  3. I Heard Ramona Sing – Frank Black
  4. By Your Side – Beachwood Sparks
  5. O Katrina! – The Black Lips
  6. I’m So Sad, So Very, Very Sad – Crash and the Boys
  7. We Hate You Please Die – Crash and the Boys
  8. Garbage Truck – Sex Bob-Omb
  9. Teenage Dream – T. Rex
  10. Sleazy Bed Track – The Bluetones
  11. It’s Getting Boring By The Sea – Blood Red Shoes
  12. Black Sheep – Metric
  13. Threshold – Sex Bob-Omb
  14. Anthems For A Seventeen Year Old Girl – Broken Social Scene
  15. Under My Thumb – The Rolling Stones
  16. Ramona (Acoustic Version) – Beck
  17. Ramona – Beck
  18. Summertime – Sex Bob-Omb
  19. Threshold (8 Bit) – Brian LeBarton
  20. Black Sheep (Brie Larson Vocal Version) – Metric^^
  21. No Fun – Sex Bob-Omb^^
  22. Garbage Truck – Beck
  23. Threshold – Beck
  24. Indefatigable – Sex Bob-Omb^^
  25. Go! – Plumtree
  26. Ramona (Acoustic Demo Idea 1) – Beck^^
  27. Ramona (Acoustic Demo Idea 2) – Beck^^
  28. Ramona (Acoustic Demo Idea 3) – Beck^^
  29. Ramona (Mellotron Version) – Beck^^
  30. Summertime – Beck
  31. Enter Goddess – Nigel Godrich^^

^^Bonus Tracks (previously unreleased on digital)