The Devil All The Time (Music From The Netflix Film) Coming September 18

The Devil All The Time (Music From The Netflix Film) Coming September 18


ABKCO Records is releasing The Devil All The Time (Music From The Netflix Film) on September 18 across all streaming and digital services, following the debut of the film on Netflix September 16. The Devil All The Time, directed by Antonio Campos (Christine, Simon Killer), is set in Ohio and West Virginia during the period between the end of World War II and the mid-1960s. The film’s screenplay was written by Antonio Campos and Paulo Campos, adapted from Donald Ray Pollock’s award-winning novel.  The film’s producers include Jake Gyllenhaal, Riva Marker and Randall Poster who, along with Meghan Currier, is its music supervisor.  Author Donald Ray Pollock also provides the film’s narration.

In an explosive Midwestern Gothic tale spanning two decades, sinister characters converge around young Arvin Russell (Tom Holland) as he fights the evil forces that threaten him and everything he loves. The Devil All The Time also stars Bill Skarsgård, Riley Keough, Jason Clarke, Sebastian Stan, Haley Bennett, Harry Melling, Eliza Scanlan with Mila Wasikowska and Robert Pattinson. Celebrated Americana music artist Pokey LaFarge is also in the cast and is heard on the ABKCO soundtrack performing “Banks of The Ohio” as well as “Washed in Blood” with fellow cast member Harry Melling.  ABKCO is relasing a 2-song EP of the tracks on which Pokey LaFarge is heard on September 16, the same day as the film’s premiere.

Stream “Banks of the Ohio” by Pokey LaFarge now

Key portions of the film’s score, written by Saunder Jurriaans and Danny Bensi who worked with Antonio Campos on both Christine and Simon Killer are included on the album. The pair are also known for work on Ozark and The OA, both Netflix series.

Pokey LaFarge was previously seen in The Lone Ranger and portrayed country music legend Hank Snow on the CMT series Sun Records.  Since his recording debut in 2006, he has released a total of nine full-length albums and has twice won the Independent Music Award for Best Americana Album and, in 2017, won the Ameripolitan Music Award for Best Western Swing Album.  He was encouraged to audition for the role of Theodore in The Devil All The Time by Randall Poster who had previously incorporated his music in the HBO series Boardwalk Empire for which he served as music supervisor.

Numerous classic country recordings are featured on The Devil All The Time (Music From The Netflix Film), including the traditional folk song “Little Bessie” by bluegrass legends The Stanley Brothers. Billy Walker’s original 1961 country hit version of Willie Nelson’s “Funny How Time Slips Away” and the 1946 King Records recording of “Hillbilly Boogie” by the Delmore Brothers are included as is “The Three Bells,” an adaptation of the French language hit “Les Trois Cloches” by The Browns that went to #1 in 1956. The set also includes “Put It Off Until Tomorrow,” by Bill Phillips. The song was written by a very young Dolly Parton who contributed harmony vocals to the 1966 Top 10 country hit.  Other songs include Ferlin Husky’s ground-breaking country gospel smash, “Wings of A Dove” that spent ten weeks at the top of Billboard’s country singles chart in 1960 and “Honeycomb” by Jimmie Rodgers. The song went to #1 on both the pop and R&B charts in 1957 and was a top 10 country single. “Young Love” by Country Music Hall of Famer Sonny James stayed in the #1 position on Billboard’s country singles chart for nine straight weeks in 1957 and is part of the album.  Less well known but equally evocative is “He Says The Same Things To Me” by Skeeter Davis, as produced by Chet Atkins. The single was her follow-up to “I Can’t Stay Mad At You” and was a top 20 country hit in 1964.  The “Bakersfield Sound” is in evidence on the album with Wyn Stewart’s “Wishful Thinking” that hit the top 5 of the Billboard country chart in 1960.

The Devil All The Time producer and music supervisor Randall Poster commented, “Music helps define these characters and an urgent reality. In this film, music is an effective counterpoint to some of the more suspenseful moments.  I love country music and am always excited to ‘step on the gravel road’ and use it when I can.  I’m glad Pokey got the part and his ‘Banks of The Ohio’ reinforces the film’s geography.  We thought about how to use music to help people understand that we are traveling from 1946 to 1965 in a way that doesn’t feel like it’s self-conscious and doesn’t jump out at the viewer.  Music is an organic part of the film, used to set time and place and to capture the spiritual ground of it.”

ABKCO Records to release CD and LP by end of year.

The Devil All The Time (Music From The Netflix Film) track listing

  1. Knockenstiff, Ohio (score) – Saunder Jurriaans and Danny Bensi
  2. Washed In The Blood – Pokey LaFarge and Harry Melling
  3. Hillbilly Boogie – The Delmore Brothers
  4. Little Bessie – The Stanley Brothers
  5. Orphans – Saunder Jurriaans and Danny Bensi
  6. The Three Bells – The Browns
  7. Put It Off Until Tomorrow – Bill Phillips with Dolly Parton
  8. Delusions – Saunder Jurriaans and Danny Bensi
  9. Wings Of A Dove – Ferlin Husky
  10. Honeycomb – Jimmie Rodgers
  11. Young Love – Sonny James
  12. Up, Up, Up – Saunder Jurriaans and Danny Bensi
  13. He Says The Same Things To Me – Skeeter Davis
  14. Funny How Times Slips Away – Billy Walker
  15. Sinners – Saunder Jurriaans and Danny Bensi
  16. Wishful Thinking – Wyn Stewart
  17. Banks of the Ohio – Pokey LaFarge
  18. Backwards & Forwards – Saunder Jurriaans and Danny Bensi